Premier Minor County Semi-Final Doon v Ballybrown

posted 23 Sep 2012, 01:42 by Unknown user

It was a sweet semi-final victory for our minors in the Gaelic Grounds last Tuesday night with a 3 point win over Ballybrown. In this double-header, Patrickswell had secured their place in the final by beating Na Piarsaigh just ahead of our game.

Ballybrown opened the scoring with a long range free in the first minute and added to it with another just 2 minutes later. Shortly after, on the 3rd of 3 goal chances, captain Dean Coleman put one in the back of the net for us. This was as great a start as we could have hoped for and for the rest of the game, we didn’t let Ballybrown take the lead. Two 65’s from Darragh O’Donovan, a free from Barry Murphy and just one point from play coming from the stick of Tony Joe Berekery completed the first half of scores for us. Our lead of 2 points at half time stood to us as Ballybrown took the first 2 points of the second half to level things. But when we settled, we did it well, and as we had done in the first half, we kept our forwards busy with lots of dropping ball. Another great shot on goal by Dean Coleman was well saved and resulted in a point by Raymond Ryan on 9 minutes. Again, Dean lead another attack and assisted Barry Murphy’s goal a while later. With just 10 minutes remaining, it was 2-7 to 0-10 and all to play for. Ballybrown threw everything they had at us for the remainder, while we got 2 points and they returned with 2 of their own, that goal they needed wasn’t in their grasp and the 3 point victory was eventually ours. Final score Doon 2-9 Ballybrown 0-12.

Best of luck to the team and their management Denis, Brian, Seamus, Adrian and James in the county final on Sunday 7th October – 1.45pm in the Gaelic Grounds.

Team – 1 Eoghan McNamara, 2 Thomas Hayes, 3 Richie English, 4 Jack Hayes, 5 Stephen Ryan, 6 Darragh Stapleton, 7 Patrick Cummins, 8 Shane O’Connell, 9 Tony Joe Berekery (0-1), 10 Fiachra O’Grady, 11 Pat Ryan (0-2), 12 Darragh O’Donovan (0-2), 13 Dean Coleman (1-1), 14 Raymond Ryan (0-1), 15 Barry Murphy (1-2)