Premier Minor County Final

posted 8 Oct 2012, 03:38 by Unknown user

The villages of Doon and Oola are still celebrating the victory of our minor team in the Gaelic Grounds yesterday afternoon – a great win by a great bunch of lads crowning Doon as Limerick’s Premier Minor Hurling Champions 2012. There has been a great determination and spirit about this team all year and this was on show in abundance in the county final where they were victorious over Patrickswell on a scoreline of 2-13 to 0-11. It felt like Doon always had the upper-hand in the game even though the sides were level on a number of occasions. A 0-7 to 0-6 half-time score saw Doon trailing but they came out fighting in the second half with 2 unanswered points in the first 3 minutes. It took almost 15 minutes from then for another score to be taken, but from that point Doon brought the game to life. A few intermittent points by Patrickswell were surrounded by Doon points and two great goals from Pat Ryan to seal the victory. The Club sends huge congratulations to all the boys involved and to their management team of Denis Barry, Brian Treacy, Seamus Barry, Adrian O’Donovan and James McPartland for their hard work throughout the year, resulting in this fantastic victory.

Team - 1 Eoghan McNamara, 2 Jack Hayes, 3 Richie English, 4 Thomas Hayes, 5 Stephen Ryan, 6 Darragh Stapleton (captain), 7 Shane O’Connell, 8 Tony Joe Berekery (0-1), 9 Patrick Cummins (0-1), 18 David Landers, 11 Pat Ryan (2-2), 12 Darragh O’Donovan (0-1), 13 Dean Coleman (0-4), 14 Raymond Ryan (0-2), 15 Barry Murphy (0-2)

Subs used on the day – Fiachra O’Grady, Cian McNamara

Subs – Jack Cummins, Jamie Heuston, Brian McPartland, Dylan O’Dwyer, Michael Ryan, Tadhg Whelan.