Premier County Minor Hurling Championship

posted 2 Jul 2013, 07:20 by Unknown user
Doon 2-14 Ballybrown 1-7
In the driving seat from the beginning, our minors had a good double-scores victory over Ballybrown in the third round of the Premier Minor County Hurling Championship last Friday evening (28th June) in Doon. A first half setback in the form of the dismissal of Darragh O'Donovan only inspired the home side, and by half time we held a 1-7 to 0-4 lead. The second half saw two more red cards in separate incidents - one for either team - but this wasn't the sign of an unsporting game. Steady performances the whole length of the field are to be commended from Doon, with scores well spread throughout the forwards and from wingback Shane O'Connell. Final score Doon 2-14 Ballybrown 1-7.
Team & scorers - Eoghan McNamara, Fiachra O'Grady, Richie English, Jack Cummins, Shane O'Connell (0-2), Stephen Ryan, Tadhg Whelan, Patrick Cummins, Thomas Hayes, Barry Murphy (0-3), Darragh O'Donovan (0-1), David Landers, Brian McPartland (1-3), Dean Coleman (1-5), Dylan O'Dwyer.
Subs - Mark Coleman, Brian Barron, Michael O'Dwyer.