East Junior B League Final

posted 19 Jun 2013, 06:31 by Unknown user

Our Junior B team made hard work of beating Cappamore to be crowned East League champions last Monday evening in Murroe. It took a full game and extra time to separate the sides with Doon running out eventual winners by a four-point margin 4-13 to 1-18. With no daylight between them, the halftime score read Doon 1-2 Cappamore 0-6. But Cappamore were the better side for most of the second half, as we were held to just 3 points in 27 minutes – 2 of which came from Denis Barry frees. Our opponents scored an impressive 1-6 in comparison, although their goal in the 25th minute was a point of controversy! Trailing by 7 points, with just a few minutes to play including some injury time, Doon dug deep and produced the goods with a superb 2-2 as Cappamore got one over the bar. The sides were level at the final whistle Doon 3-7 Cappamore 1-13.

Extra time saw some changes in personnel for Doon and the fresh legs helped no end in igniting the spark we needed to win the game. Full forward Paddy Coleman took the first scoring opportunity of extra time – a goal 3 minutes in and his second of the game. Shane McKenna was on target with 2 points and Denis Barry added another point from a free. At this stage, we were 3 points up heading into the second part of extra time. We added 3 further points in the last 10 minutes, while Cappamore pointed two frees – this saw us to the end of the game with four points to spare over our near-neighbours. Final score Doon 4-13 Cappamore 1-18.

Captain John Murphy proudly accepted the East League Cup on behalf of the team and management who now look ahead to their county semi-final against Blackrock in Claughaun on Thursday (20th June) at 7.30pm.

Doon’s starting 15 – John Murphy, James Nolan, Tom Murphy, Jack Hayes, Ger Crowe, Shane Whelan, Jack Cummins, Shane Brennan, Rob McLoughlin, Kevin Lenihan, James O’Brien, Diarmuid Cummins, Shane McKenna, Paddy Coleman, Denis Barry