County Junior B Hurling Championship final

posted 20 Oct 2014, 02:56 by Doon G.A.A.
Yesterday afternoon (Sun 19th Oct), our Junior B team and supporters headed to Caherconlish for the County Championship final against Monaleen. Conditions were poor for the 12midday thrown-in with the wind a big factor particularly in the first half.
There was nothing separating the sides at halftime (0-5 each). With 2 Derek Ryan frees and a point each from Bernard Crowe, Kevin Lenihan and Ger Beary that was our first half tally. The second half started off promising with 2 points scored by each side in the first seven minutes, but the pace slowed down a bit after that and each side was only to score two more points each in the final 23 minutes. Doon were 1 point ahead nearing the end of the game, but one last gasp free by Monaleen secured them the draw and we now face a replay at a date and time TBC.
Team & scorers – Paddy Coleman, John Stokes, James Fox, Shane Brennan, Eddie Ryan, Tadhg Hayes (0-1), Diarmuid Cummins, James O’Brien, Rob McLoughlin, Bernard Crowe(0-1), Derek Ryan (0-4), Kevin Lenihan (0-1), Cathal Maher, Seamie Ryan, Ger Beary (0-2).
Subs used – Tomas McLoughlin, Denis Ryan