PRO Report 14/06

posted 14 Jun 2010, 09:12 by Unknown user   [ updated 14 Jun 2010, 09:13 ]
The Doon senior team got their winning streak back in track when they defeated both Claughaun and Patrickswell in the County League. After being effectively knocked out of the championship these two wins have shown the spirit and determination in the players.  First up were Claughan in Claughan and with a limited number of players Doons younger players of Conor White, Arthur Crowe, Liam Ryan, Ger McPartland and Michael Barry really came to the fore with great defending and point scoring. Eddie Kiely was also outstanding when moved to centre back and his recent call up to the Limerick Intermediate team is well justified. Doon ran out winners on the night with a four point victory 1-8 to 0-14. Team Con O'Connell, Don Anderson,Eddie Kiely, Conor White, Liam Ryan, Denis Moloney, Shane Whelan, Jason Ryan, James O'Brien, Ger McPartland, Bernard Crowe, Michael Barry, Niall Maher, Dan Reale, Arthur Crowe

Next up were Patrickswell in Doon on Saturday night. Delayed due to no referee this was a real cracker of the match played at championship pace. Niall Maher was moved back to his usual position of centre forward scoring four points from play  and contributing to many others. Don Anderson, Eddie Kiely and Denis Moloney were outstanding in defence while Jason Ryan and Michael McKenna were brilliant at mid field. Up front Michael Barry and Ger McPartland were again  to the fore while George Allos and Michael Ryan caused panick when given the ball. After an impressive hour of hurling Doon came out on top 0-19 to 1-14

On Thursday June 3rd, Doon played Caherline in round 7 of the Junior B hurling league. In ideal conditions for hurling it was Doon who were first off the mark with a point from Kevin Lenihan. This was quickly followed up with a point by Shane McKenna before Caherline had time to settle. Caherline opened their account with a pointed free after eight minutes. In the next ten minutes it was all going Doon's way thanks to an excellent goal by Brian Sheehy and some well taken points from Brian Fenton operating at corner forward. With twenty five minutes on the stop watch it was Doon who lead 1 -8 to 0 -4. A goal from a 21 yard free just before half time left Caherline trailing by just four points at the interval. Half time score Doon 1 -8, Caherline 1 -4. Doon started the second half the livelier with a point from John Burke and some well taken points from Denis Barry. With fourteen minutes remaining it was Shane McKenna who found the back of the Caherline net to finish this game as a contest. A fine point from play from Robert McLoughlin, who fought for every ball during the hour, saw Doon win out the game on a scoreline in Doon reading Doon 2 -14, Caherlin 1 -7.
TEAM                                           Scorers
Ger Ryan (A)                                 Brian Sheehy 1 -2
John Murphy                                 Shane McKenna 1 -1
Marcus Ryan (A)                            Denis Barry 0 -5 (4 frees)                                                                                            
James Nolan                                  Brian Fenton 0 - 3                           
Arthur Crowe                                 John Burke, Kevin Lenihan & Robert McLoughlin 1 pt. each. 
Ian Burke
Eddie Ryan
Eamon Hanley                               Subs:1. Shane Ryan for James Nolan 
Robert McLoughlin                                 2. Damian Ryan for John Burke
John Burke                                           3. Conor Ryan for Shane McKenna
Denis Barry                                           4. Paddy Allen for Ian Burke
Brian Sheehy                                        5. Colin Sheehy for Brian Sheehy
Shane McKenna
Kevin Lenihan
Brian Fenton